Artist, Illustrator, or Designer…yes!

letting go-by cheryl mcdonald

The last couple of weeks I have been doing a lot of self- evaluation- again- I keep going through this I guess, because I just can’t possibly believe that it is possible to be able to promote all of the things I do! Most of the art and design gurus tell us that it is important to focus on one style or one medium or at least one profession- So I keep trying to figure out which of these things I should be working on. The trouble is I have successes in all of these things- illustration, fine art, and graphic design and I love doing them all! I also have several different styles and work in several different mediums, and am told that I do them all rather successfully. It is interesting to me also that all of these things sort of rotate through my life. And I am beginning to see that, that is how I should work them- Putting the money and attention and resources on the one that is creating the fullness and bringing the most passion to my life at the moment. I have had this feeling that if I could just get “someone who knows” to tell me what I should do, then I could just do it. Guess what, everyone has a different opinion on what I should do and where I should focus. All of them credible in their fields. What I am learning- actually re-learning is that I really need to trust myself on this, follow my passions which just happen to be all of these things and use all of the tools I know to share my multiple talents to create the beauty and truth and wisdom I am given every day.

What I also realize is that discipline is necessary to carry out what needs to be done to accomplish the goals I have for each of these aspects. And that also is only something I can do for myself. As a business owner, I am in charge of my day- so I need to follow through on the tasks that need to be done. It is my responsibility to do the promotion, the daily connecting with clients as well as the daily creating. How lucky am I to have to create everyday!

There are no limits and the more I learn, the more I have to share. I guess the real issue is just being in balance and that is a subject for another day.

Just maybe that is the beauty of the name of my company- Passions at Play Art & Design.

Art and Design are my passion, and my way of playing through life.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment