The Journey, Evolution and New Life

Pillars by Cheryl McDonald

Evolution is an amazing thing. We talk about evolution as if it is something that happened in the past, not something that is happening daily. We forget that evolution is about change and that is what we experience everyday whether we like it or not. This year is full of new beginnings, great amounts of creative energy are flowing throughout the world. Major changes are happening in most of our lives. I am excited about what is evolving and see new opportunities for change and evolution daily.

Creativity does not stand still. Artists and scientists and all of those who create are not very good at settling for what they know, they are always looking for the next answer to questions that are constantly erupting in their brains or consciousness. It energizes me when I know that there is a new project or experience coming my way. It is nice to remember where I have been and the portfolio I have created, however the reason I create is not for the finished product so much as for the experience of the creating. Being in that “zone” is an experience that I look for, yearn for more and more. The flow of energy is amazing. And the finished product is for me an expression of the voice of the Divine.

My newest means of creating for the last couple of years has been digital photography. Learning to use the camera, capturing a feeling, an experience a moment in time that will never come again has been an exhilarating experience for me. And now I see that the camera is a tool that will now be a part of my creative arsenal along with the mediums of drawing and watercolor and computer technology. Learning to use Photoshop for more than just processing pictures or paintings for print is giving me the means to create images from various mediums to create art that is new and exciting. I am starting to imagine how all of these mediums can come together to express. It is awesome. My latest series is called the Journey and so far it is only images created from combining photographs, but that is about to change as well. Stay tuned for what comes next.

This week is also exciting for me because I get to start sharing what I know about painting and the creative process with others. My first watercolor class here in Ridgecrest begins Thursday night. I love the synergy that is created when creative people come together. We learn from each other and that creative energy just flows on and on.

How has your creativity evolved? What new mediums are you incorporating into your work? Can you see how this process brings new life to yourself and your work? These are questions I am working with and struggling and at the same time loving the process of rebirth. But that is how new life begins isn’t it. And so it is!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

